All They Want, Is To Be Accepted.

The other day I was discussing with a few friends of mine about a project my sister was doing for her fellowship. (Her project was on ‘Views of the public on sexuality and prostitution’.) Out of curiosity, I had asked their opinions on prostitutes. “I think they wear too much make up and have 0 morals”, said one and the insults kept coming in. I sat there, waiting for them to finish but yeah they took forever to finish discussing this topic and when they were done, I learnt that this set of friends are quite ignorant, but I won’t blame them. They’re having their own mid-life crisis(s) like not having the right dress for tennis what so on and so forth. It is then that I asked them, “Have you ever thought of them as…Courageous?” because honestly after a while my mind set changed about them. What with my parents being lawyers and human rights activists and helping such people out, I didn’t exactly pity them nor did I judge them. These people don’t need our pity.They’re brave enough to give up their bodies for such an awful industry, they aren’t weak and seeking our pity. They don’t need to be judged either. Or rather, shouldn’t. Ask yourselves, especially if you’re a woman– how prepared are you or brave are you to put yourselves in their shoes and deal with what they deal with. I’m guessing the obvious. All they want is to be accepted.

Now, call me a nerd for doing my little research but here’s why prostitutes exist according to 85% of the prostitutes in a few European countries(And other places):

“The main reason for prostitution in all groups is money. ‘Money is cited by 85% of the prostitutes,’ says Kofod. ‘Some have to pay for housing, food and day care for their children.’ ” (source 1, source 2)

There, now again ask yourselves, how many of us are brave enough to give up our bodies and dignity all to be judged by society, simply to make a living and provide for our loved ones because we don’t have another option? How many of us can/ are willing to put up with sexual harassment and threats or other hazards that come with the job to provide for those who are dear to us?  So think twice before judging someone for the job they do and show some respect. Also, think twice before calling someone regardless of their occupation/designation a ‘Slut’, ‘Whore’, etc. Because such slurs are used to describe courageous women and are rather deprecating.

One comment

  1. asiaworgan · May 27, 2015

    Love this

    Like

Leave a Reply

