To The Laws of Physics And The Chemistry Between Us.

You know what I love about kissing her?

When she kisses me back.

When we’re pausing to catch our breaths,

And she looks at me,

As if she were in a trance.

She looks content.

Hypnotized,

Like a snake to a tune.

 

I love the feeling of her lips,

Smooth as the surface of milk,

It reminds me of home.

I love that she looks at me,

Like I’m the on she wants,

Like she too has found home in me,

Even though,

I am perhaps the worst kiss she’s had.

 

I love how tender she is with her love.

Her kisses aren’t desperate,

Forceful,

Gasping as if I were the oxygen she needed.

No,

It was more than that.

It was like she had gotten that ice cream she craved,

Every summer noon,

Satiating her need to balance the heat from the outside.

How typically like us,

Opposites attract indeed.

 

I love that ven though she knows,

I’m terrible at kissing,

And I’m babbling through,

Questions about if I’m doing it right.

She laughs to herself,

Asking me to shut up,

Pulling me in again.

Or that when we decide to give it a rest,

And are almost out the door,

She turns back only to let loose this sultry smile,

Pulling me in yet again,

And did I mention, kissing is not my forte?

But she didn’t complain, and did it all right.

 

She is the right to a wrong,

The angel to the devil,

We’re two contradictions,

In a big world of polarities,

Yet, we too mold ourselves to the laws of physics.

Opposites attract, indeed.

 

I am grateful to the laws of physics,

and the chemistry between us,

Pulling us,

Binding us,

millions, maybe trillions of atoms,

And hey, maybe even Biology,

For creating a relationship between us.

Surely, I can say,

From empirical research,

Opposites attract, indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

